We are Beautiful, In This Skin

There is this song that I often forget about, until I hear it come on shuffle on my Ipod. It got me thinking that it should be our theme song! There is so much out there ‘telling’ us to be unhappy with ourselves in many aspects: Talent, work, body, behavior, looks, etc. Women and girls fight, judge, and compete so much because if these ideas society puts out there. We shouldn’t! We each know what it feels like, have been there and we should be the ones to offer the love and support (without judgement or competition) because we know, understand. We all hurt because of it. I wanted to share the lyrics from http://www.azlyrics.com (bolds are mine) and the video so you can hear it.

“In This Skin”

They see me in a magazine
I’m the one they want to be
Still don’t feel I’m good enough
Still don’t feel I’m thin enough

I stand up and I’m pushed back down
And every opinion now
It makes me feel inhuman
Givin’ in and givin’ up

To be worthy
To feel beautiful in this skin
Be beautiful in this skin
Love me for me
Have confidence in this skin
Be confident in this skin

So tell me what is wrong with me
I’m the girl with everything
So why am I not strong enough
I want to be strong enough
To tell you how I really feel
I know my talent is real
So don’t tell me
Don’t tell me
I have to be 102
I don’t have nothing to prove
So don’t tell me
Don’t tell me

Cause I am worthy
To feel beautiful in this skin
Be beautiful in this skin

Love me for me
Have confidence in this skin
Be confident in this skin
Be real, be real
See the beauty inside this skin
I don’t have to hide this skin
I feel, I feel
An awakening in this skin
Stop forsaking me in this skin

I am, I am, I am, I am
I am, I am, I am
oooohhhhh
To be
Worthy
Be beautiful

Love me
For me
Cause I am beautiful

To be worthy
To feel beautiful in this skin
Be beautiful in this skin
Love me for me
Have confidence in this skin
Be confident in this skin
Be real, be real
See the beauty inside this skin
Cause I don’t want to have to hide it
I feel, I feel
I’m beautiful in this skin
Beautiful in this skin
I’m beautiful
And your beautiful
Beautiful in this skin
I’m beautiful
And you are beautiful
Beautiful in this skin

I hope you have a great day! Your beautiful and worthy!!!

One thought on “We are Beautiful, In This Skin

Leave a Reply

